.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

WhiteTrashBBQ

WhiteTrash BBQ -- Real Pit Barbecue from New York City. This is the story of a fire obsessed guy, living in Brooklyn, with a dream of producing award winning, competition busting, real Barbeque. Come live the dream as I compete around the country in the KCBS Championship Barbecue circuit.

Monday, December 15, 2008

Book Review: Holy Smoke: The Big Book of North Carolina Barbecue

"North Carolina is home to the longest continuous barbecue tradition on the North American mainland."

Whoa. Really? Them's some pretty strong words. Some folks might say them's fightin' words. Some folks in Texas, Tennessee, Missouri and not to mention South Carolina may not take kindly to them words, but John Shelton Reed, Dale Volberg Reed, and William McKinney seem to prove the point in the superb book Holy Smoke: The Big Book of North Carolina Barbecue.

This is a great read. I received this book on Friday and spent the weekend reading it. It's one of the few barbecue books that I couldn't put down. I really enjoyed some of the humorous side notes on the pages.

In the tradition of Peace, Love and Barbecue by Mike Mills and his daughter Amy Mills Tunnicliffe and Legends of Texas Barbecue by Robb Walsh, Holy Smoke: The Big Book of North Carolina Barbecue is part cook book, part history book and part depository of cultural folk lore of the smoke.

It's all here. The authors trace the origins of North Carolina Q and get into the heated rivalry between Eastern and Piedmont styles. They provide detailed recipes and instructions for cooking barbecue at home. To this NYC boy, "traditional array of side dishes that should accompany the bbq" seem strange and exotic but definitely worth trying out.

In the last part of the book we get to meet some of the people who cook barbecue for a living, and hear about the past and future of North Carolina barbecue.

The whole story is fascinating to me. Living in New York, I'm so used to hearing about how our foods came from the immigrants as each group passed through the city, it's great to read about the emergence of a truly native food style. If you want to read an excerpt of the book, click here.

This book belongs in the collection of anyone seriously into the Q. This book is going to a few BBQ friends of mine this Christmas. Buy it. I can't put it any simpler than that.

Labels: , , , , , ,

2 Comments:

At 5:51 PM, Blogger Terry (aka) Big Daddy said...

I saw this awhile back, saw some good reviews on it and a few cons.

If you say it's good, that's enough for me to spend the money.

B.D.

 
At 12:20 PM, Blogger Chris said...

I definitely plan to get it as soon as the holidays are over and I make sure someone else didn't get it for me:)

 

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Google
WWW WhiteTrash BBQ
Your Gateway to Barbecue Information
A service of
netRelief, Inc.

This site is a member of The Smoke Ring
A linked list of BBQ websites

Next - Skip Next - Next 5 - Prev - Skip Prev - Random Site

Join the ring or browse a complete list of The Smoke Ring members

If you discover problems with any of The Smoke Ring sites,
please notify the Ringmaster


[ Previous 5 Sites | Skip Previous | Previous | Next ]

This RingSurf Food~n~More Ring Net Ring
owned by WhiteTrash BBQ.

[ Skip Next | Next 5 Sites | Random Site | List Sites ]

Search Popdex:
Ego Vereor Haud Sus!